© 2018 Portland Township 


    Township Board 

    Elected Officials:


    Chris Jensen - Supervisor

    Charlene Keilen - Clerk

    Leanne Simon - Treasurer

    Mark Simon - Trustee

    Sue Vanlente - Trustee

    Portland Township government is conducted by a township board consisting of five members. The officers of the board are designated supervisor, clerk, treasurer and trustee, with the trustees numbering two. The township board may also serve in other specific capacities, such as a park or utility board.

    The term of office for all township officials is four years. The terms commence at 12 p.m. on November 20 following the November general election, provided the newly elected officials have qualified for office by that time. To qualify, a successful candidate must file any necessary bond and take an oath of office before the township clerk or other officer qualified to administer the oath, such as a county clerk, notary public or judge. Other township officers authorized to administer the oath are the deputy clerk, supervisor and deputy supervisor.

    The clerk  and the treasurer must each appoint a deputy. The deputy clerk and deputy treasurer must also be bonded. The supervisor may appoint a deputy Deputy township officials are authorized to act as the elected official in the event of the official’s absence, sickness, death or other disability. A deputy may not, however, vote as a member of the township board. With the official’s approval and the consent of the township board, a deputy may assist the elected official at any additional times agreed to by the board and the official. Deputies are not required to be residents of the township, and may be paid compensation as determined by the township board.


    Meeting Dates
    Printable Fiscal Year Meeting Dates

    Meetings start at 7:00 pm unless noted otherwise and will be at the Portland Township Hall  located at 773 E Grand River Ave, Portland.  The Township Board may schedule additional meetings and public hearings as needed or requested.



    April Meeting held March 28

    May 9


    July 11

    August 8


    October 10

    November 14

    December 12


    January 9

    February 13

    March 20 at 6:00 pm for regular meeting

    followed by budget meeting

    March 27 at 6:00 pm for annual meeting

    followed by April meeting